The Block

I was nervous the whole day. My team wasn’t playing great. Actually the defense played pretty well – holding the other team to only 16 points. My team’s offense just wasn’t doing it. That is until the fourth quarter. You know what I’m talking about… the Utah-BYU game at Rice-Eccles Stadium. Finally the Utah offense started to roll putting up 17 points in about 11 minutes. When the Utes took the lead, there was just over four minutes to go. Too much time. BYU moved the ball down the field with just a little too much ease. Then it all came down to this – The Block:

 

From: Trent Nelson, The Salt Lake Tribune

Utah’s Brandon Burton got in on the left side of the line, practically untouched, and blocked Mitch Payne’s field goal attempt as time ran out to seal the win for the Utes. That pit I had in my stomach all day all of a sudden went away. Finally, it was Utah’s turn for one of these games to finish in our favor. Here’s the scene on the field from section N20 moments after the block.

Amber and I went to the game with my dad and my Uncle Blair. It was cold. I was prepared for the cold. But, I was still cold. The win and the hot chocolate after the game made up for the coldness. We’re not coffee drinkers, so we don’t go to Starbucks. But, they have dang good hot chocolate and we stopped to get some. I got the peppermint hot chocolate this time. It was good!

Overall, I think the game was good as far as the fans go. It seemed like most fans were trying to be on their best behavior, given the crap that’s gone on during the last 12 months. I think people were afraid to say anything and take a chance at offending someone. I’m glad this rivalry will be changing with the move to the PAC 12 and BYU’s move to independence. Playing in September will change things up a bit. No more 12 weeks of build up which adds to the issues. Here’s Amber and I showing our U’s after the win. And Amber and I with my dad.

These two guys make a new sign every game. They based this sign on one that a BYU student put up on the scoreboard at the Marriott Center in Provo after BYU beat Utah State in basketball last month.

Overall, I was very happy with the way the Utes played this year. 10-2 isn’t too bad. It could have been better. They definitely weren’t as crisp during the last four games of the year. Next up is Boise State in the Maaco Bowl Las Vegas. Boise had a heart-breaking lose to Nevada last week. It spoiled their hopes of a chance at the BCS title game. National media are already stating that Boise’s going to work the Utes to death as a statement to the nation that they deserved to be in Glendale in January. What people forget is that Utah has a coach who is one of the best at preparing for bowl games. The Utes have gone to 8 straight bowl games and won 9 consecutive bowl games – longest in the nation. Coach Whit will have this team ready – even with Wynn out with season-ending shoulder surgery. Terrance Cain will be ready. At least that’s my hope.

We’ll be making the trip to Las Vegas for the game. We’re taking the boys and going with my dad and Amber’s parents. We’re excited. They boys are even more excited! Looking forward to the quick trip and the game. Go Utes!

 

Leave a Reply

